How blue was my sea@Hikkaduwa

siriniwasa-sea-nov-2008-blog-dsc_0035

Four years after the tsunami the trek back to Siriniwasa is filled with poignant flashbacks.  Sadly, the memory is as sharp as ever, the pain a trifle dulled by a stoic acceptance, but the eyes  still have a mind of its open and fill with tears.

coast-rd-1-blog-2-12262008dsc_0036

The road just before Peraliya, where the train got swept away is now repaired.

grave-blog-dsc_00382

but the road sides are dotted with the graves of lost ones.

I think the young hip crowd call Hikkaduwa, Hix and thay are the ones now taking over Hix. Walking across from our house to the smart little cafe, I asked the lass there how people are faring after the tsunami.  “Oh, they are waiting for another tsunami — all the poor made money, and only the better off were losers.”  A pointed reminder that everyone has built back better, except us.

lliy-blog-dsc_00571

Across the street I see Lily,  my mother’s loyal friend, in the traditional “kabakurutthu” worn in the South and reflected in the glass behind her was the reflection of our house now occupied by the Coast Conservation.

siriniwasa-blog-2008dsc_0062

Behind our house divers were pushing off for a dive.

sea-and-boats-2-blog-22008dsc_0059

The sea was azure, clear and the water inviting.

sea-and-red-boat-blog-2008dsc_0058

Oh, how  I miss thee Siriniwasa.

If  you haven’t read: Ashes of thoughts what the tsunami took away is my story of the 2004.

And the brother I lost in the tsunami:

Tsunami 3 years on: Remembering Prasanna Kirtisinghe

All Photographs© Chulie de Silva

9 thoughts on “How blue was my sea@Hikkaduwa”

  1. The very personal touch you are able to add to your writings prove once again how receptive and observant you are. Keep up the good work friend cause this would help you over ride what ever negative sentiments you get with the overwhelming beauty and pleasure this life can also offer us.

  2. The hint of the poetic and the inviting photography makes you the ideal chief editor of Kris – the Singapore Airlines in-flight magazine

  3. I just happened to see this blog and I think your pictures are beautiful. I used to know many girls from Jaffna and the name Peraliya sounds so familiar to me, and I wonder where they are now. Please let me know if you know anyone who used to study in WCC, Madras, India between 1967 – 1970.

    You write very well, Chulie.

  4. Dear Chuli Akki,

    I was very pleasantly surprised to stumble across your blog by accident. How lovely to read about and see all the good times…(and bad too…)

    Will need a lot of time to dig around by the looks of it, but will do the digging!

    Lots of love,

    Asoka
    (Tissa Mama’s son)

Leave a Reply

